ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the

Advancement of Catalytic Science

Previous Award Winners

Purpose of the award: 

The ACS Catalysis Lectureship for the Advancement of Catalytic Science honors current groundbreaking research that enables better understanding of the links among the various subdisciplines of catalysis and also advances the field of catalysis as a whole. The lectureship is co-sponsored by the ACS Division of Catalysis Science & Technology and the ACS Publications journal ACS Catalysis. The lectureship may be awarded to an individual or a collaborative research team for their contributions to the field. In 2021-2023, the award has a different focus each year:  

  • 2021: Biocatalysis or enzymology

  • 2022: Heterogeneous catalysis

  • 2023: Homogeneous or molecular catalysis

The 10th annual award will be presented in 2021 for groundbreaking research in biocatalysis or enzymology that has significantly affected catalysis over the past seven years. The lectureship seeks to recognize innovations in catalysis that have strengthened the connections between catalysis disciplines and had a profound effect on catalysis as a whole. It will be presented at a special session of the ACS Division of Catalysis Science and Technology at the 262nd ACS National Meeting, which will take place in Atlanta, Georgia, August 22-26, 2021.


  • Nominees' work must be in the area of biocatalysis or enzymology. For this year's award we will not consider nominations working in other areas.

  • Nominees must have published at least one paper in ACS Catalysis, although that paper does not need to serve as the basis for the award.

  • Team nominations must be limited to three principal team members.

Nomination procedure:

To make a nomination, please complete the form and upload a SINGLE PDF FILE containing the following items in this order by November 1, 2020:

  1. Please complete the form below and upload a SINGLE PDF FILE containing the required supporting documents in this order by November 1, 2020:

  2. A 1- to 3-page nomination letter describing the nominee’s specific accomplishments as related to this nomination

  3. List of no more than 20 relevant publications by the nominee from 2013-2020

  4. One letter of support (required)

  5. Second letter of support (optional)

  6. Proof that at least one nominator is a member of the ACS Division of Catalysis Science & Technology (CATL).

Nominations are due November 1, 2020

If you have any questions, please send them to


Additional Information:

  • The lectureship is intended to recognize specific contributions to catalysis science. While the candidate’s career contributions will be considered, the largest emphasis will be placed on his/her/their contribution to catalysis over the past 7 years.

  • Nomination documents should emphasize the candidate’s most significant contributions in the past 7 years rather than a full, detailed list of career accomplishments.

  • In the event of multiple submissions of similar quality, nominees who have not yet been recognized for the work associated with the nomination will receive priority.

  • At least one nominator must be a member of the ACS Division of Catalysis Science & Technology (CATL).

  • Nominations from previous years do not carry over, but may be updated and resubmitted.

  • Before making a nomination, you must get the nominee's consent to share information about them as part of the nomination process. This is necessary for The American Chemical Society, ACS Publications, and the ACS Division of Catalysis Science & Technology (CATL) to comply with laws and rules around the processing of personal data.

  • If you have questions, please send them to

2021: Biocatalysis or enzymology

Thomas Ward, University of Basel

2020: Homogeneous or Molecular catalysis

Shannon Stahl, University of Wisconsin-Madison

2019: Heterogeneous catalysis

Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos and E. Charles H. Sykes, Tufts University

2018: Biocatalysis

Nicholas Turner, The University of Manchester

2017 Paul Chirik

2016 Matthias Beller

2015 Morris Bullock and Daniel Dubois

2014 Suljo Linic

2013 John Hartwig

2012 Alan Goldman

How do I become eligible for awards?
Join CATL division to nominate and receive awards